Located 6840 Beulah St Alexandria, the Laurel Grove School Museum takes you back to a time and place where freed and former slaves who desired to educate their children had to literary build the school themselves. The Laurel Grove Colored School was created in 1881 by William and Georgiana Jasper, who deeded a half-acre of their land to the local Franconia school district. The one-room school was built and sustained by the parents of the children who attended the school with little help from the County. Laurel Grove School served the black students in Franconia from grades one through seven until 1932 when it closed due to low attendance. In 1999, the Laurel Grove School Association was incorporated to reclaim the school's proud history, and once again open its doors mas a museum and teaching center for area schools and the general public. It is the only remaining African American schoolhouse in Northern Virginia. Visit the Laurel Grove School Museum and experience a day in the life of a Laurel Grove student around the 1920s. There's also a cemetery located beside the museum. The museum is open on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays from 10 am to 2 pm.